SI Names College Athlete of the Year Finalists; Winners to be announced May 22

5 Female and 5 Male Finalists Featured on; Winners to be Announced May 22

collegeAthlete_logoSports Illustrated today announced on 10 finalists for the  2012-13 SI College Athlete of the Year. The award will celebrate one female and one male collegiate student athlete who have achieved athletic distinction and have had an outsized impact in the classroom or in their communities.

The finalists, chosen by SI editors, include six seniors, two sophomores and two juniors who competed during the 2012-2013 academic year. The celebrated student athletes represent ten different sports and include a four sport athlete, multiple NCAA champions and record holders and the 2013 No. 1 WNBA draft pick (Brittney Griner, Baylor).

“We surveyed the nation’s campuses, scouring gyms and stadiums, labs and lecture halls, in search of the beau ideal of the well-rounded college athlete. We sought out head-turning sporting achievement, to be sure, but we also looked for jocks who made an outsized impact in the classroom, the community or some non-athletic extracurricular pursuit. Then we sifted through the candidates to choose 10 finalists, five men and five women, who found that sweet spot between “student” and “athlete,”’ says senior writer Alexander Wolff in a College Athlete of the Year introduction essay on

The College Athlete of the Year winners will be featured in the May 27 issue of Sports Illustrated, which hits newsstands on Wednesday, May 22. Profiles on the winners, including videos will also be featured on on May 22. Beginning on May 8, fans can vote online for their favorite athletes.

Volkswagen is the SI College Athlete of the Year sponsor on To view profiles on the 10 finalists, click here.

Women’s Finalists:

  • Liz Brenner, volleyball, basketball, softball and track and field, University of Oregon
  • Kimberlyn Duncan, track and field, LSU
  • Brittney Griner, basketball, Baylor University
  • Loren Shealy, field hockey, University of North Carolina
  • Taylor Thornton, lacrosse, Northwestern University

Men’s Finalists:

  • Trey Burke, basketball, University of Michigan
  • Kyle Dake, wrestling, Cornell University
  • Khaled Holmes, football, USC
  • Drew LeBlanc, ice hockey, St. Cloud State University
  • Tyler Thornton, basketball, Duke University


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 130 other followers